To say goodbye is a tender thing

A stage of life gets put away

We say goodbye, and the moment brings

A million words too sad to say

To say goodbye

Is to shatter one more heart

Or a sign to change, to start, to part

 

I say goodbye

knowing sad farewells will make me cry

I just don’t know why people say goodbye

 

You say goodbye to the ones you love

But leave behind the memories

You say goodbye to the other half

Who always made you feel complete

To say goodbye doesn’t have to mean the end

For a little while we can pretend

That saying goodbye

Is another thing we have to try

Though we don’t know why

People say goodbye

 

I say goodbye

Knowing sad farewells will make me cry

I just don’t know why people say goodbye…

People say goodbye…

People say goodbye…

 

~ Written & composed by Dick Lee