Good progress in my life last year, particularly the 2nd half of 2011, which really kept me busy.

Actually, it is what I’d been wanting to do for years and can even be traced back to when I was in Primary 5. A while ago, a friend talked about how people couldn’t wait to grow up and only to regret after they have entered adulthood. Well, not me. Don’t get me wrong. I had a happy childhood. It’s just that I love what I am now – I’m aware of my place in this seemingly chaotic world and when life doesn’t turn out the way I want, I’m capable of giving myself a much needed shot of happiness and faith. The only exception comes when the thought of Dad hits me hard, but I know Dad wouldn’t want me to wallow in the past instead of marching on for every brand new second.

I digress.

Anyway, being in a foreign town alone with Beam allows me much more freedom. I took up things such as Japanese, Turkish and Kurdish. Yes, I have a thing for language learning. Unfortunately, my Turkish and Kurdish lessons came to an end when the friends who taught me had to move back to London. Well, look on the bright side, I still have a clear idea of how the Turkish phonetic system works despite the fact that I’ve forgot most of the things they taught me. (I’m a hopeless optimist ~)

As the year end drew near, I started having more new thoughts such as increasing my exercise intensity apart from yoga in the morning. To be truthful, I did surprise myself by making yoga a habit as I all the way prefer things like samba and salsa. However, living in this small town without a car limits my mobility –  You need to go to bigger cities or towns for them. I would very much love to take up tennis, but I’ll need to travel to Aldeburgh… After much research and  consideration, I decided on power walking. After all, I’ve been walking all my life, from Taiwan to Singapore, from Singapore to Hong Kong, and now to England. I believe that even Beam has walked more than a lot of adults who live in a city.

The inaugural walk came on 19 March, 2012. I wasn’t sure of a lot of things, so I brought along a shopping bag in which there were a small bottle of water, the house keys, my mobile  phone and digital camera. But from the next day on, I’ve been walking with the house keys only and nothing else and I tell you – Being able to get away from all those burdens is such a pleasure.

The present route takes about 45 minutes to complete. I’m going to explore different routes later on and hope to progress towards jogging eventually. The only thing is that I’ve been having some minor knee problem since I was a teen. So, I won’t beat myself up if I really can’t make it. Power walking alone is good enough.

Stay alive!

 

去年,有很多的突破,特別是下半年,因此特別忙碌。

這些突破,其實都是埋藏了很久的夢想、計畫,有的甚至可以回溯到國小高年級!前陣子,有朋友在臉書上說:小時候急著要當大人,長大以後,卻巴不得能返老還童。。。我有個快樂無憂的童年,卻從不做如是想,因為我喜歡現在的自己 — 面對紛亂擾攘的世界,我已經有了屬於自己的定見,琢磨出了自己的處世風格。偶爾還是有例外,就是想念爸爸的時候,但我知道爸爸也不會喜歡我沉湎於過往。

去年的突破,多屬於靜態的,例如日文、土耳其語和庫德語的學習。很可惜,後兩者因為朋友搬回倫敦,不得不暫時告一段落;雖然已經把大部分所學的還給朋友了,但起碼,對於土耳其語的發音規則還是很有概念的(真是個無可救藥的樂天派~)。

到了年底,開始有往動態發展的念頭。一直以來,我都有早晨起床先作卅到四十分鐘瑜珈的習慣,但我其實是個比較喜歡活蹦亂跳的傢伙,所以能夠把瑜珈變成生活習慣,也出乎自己的意料。瑜珈雖然好處多多,我還是想增加運動量:學 samba 和 salsa 嘛,這個鎮太小了,得到比較大的城市才有,我不開車,公車又是一小時一班,所以非常不方便;學網球嘛,也得到隔壁的 Aldeburgh 才行。。。考量許久,決定了,就健走吧!畢竟,從台灣開始,我就很習慣走路,一路走到新加坡、香港,再走來英國,我相信連梅小獸走過的橋,可能比很多城市人走過的路還多。

三月十九日,終於開始健走,當天由於缺乏經驗,還帶上一個購物袋,裝了小瓶礦泉水、鑰匙、手機和數位相機。第二天開始,就只剩下串在手指上的鑰匙,輕鬆得很。目前走的這條路線,需時大約四十五分鐘左右(快走),之後再慢慢探索其它的路線,最好能逐步進階到慢跑。不過,我的膝蓋從少年時期就有點毛病,所以,萬一真的跑不得,健走也是夠好滴,我很知足~

活著的感覺,真好。

However grey the skies might be, you know the sun is always behind them. Be patient, and the light and warmth will always come out for sure.
無論天空有多麼灰暗,太陽從未消失,只要耐心等候,光明和溫暖總會再度到來。

These high-tension power cable towers are quite a sight!
這些代表文明的高壓電塔,其實別有一番風情。

Again, my favourite sight.
又是我最鍾愛的景色。

The intense colours make a great piece of art. In fact, the white clouds reminded me so much of fresh cream — my fave!! *nyum nyum nyum*~
很純粹的色澤組成畫一般的風景。這一朵朵的白雲,讓我想起了可口的鮮奶油~

This was what etched into my mind when we first visited England and I fell straight in love with it.
第一次造訪英格蘭,舉目所及便是這款印象,從此愛上這塊土地。

A beautiful tree on the roadside.
路旁一棵美麗的樹。

More beautiful trees keeping me company.
這些美麗的樹陪伴著我的腳步。

Simply love how artistically these branches grew.
一枝一葉,都有著自己的獨特姿態。

I’m obsessed with sights of branches, crisp skies and sunshine.
始終著迷於枝葉、碧空與陽光組成的天際線。