This morning, finally remembered to pass the stamps to Paul. Almost everyone I know has been collecting stamps for the Big Headz.

Sugar, Momo, Chocholit, Lollipop, Sheepy, Blur Blur, and Marshmellow.

Sugar, Momo, Chocholit, Lollipop, Peach, Blur Blur, and Marshmallow.

Once it was done, Beam and I walked on towards school.

Beam made an observation, ‘You’re very good at collecting stamps.’

‘Oh? Haha ~ I like the way you put it. Tell it as it is. You know, some would definitely make comments like “Wow! You’re rich!”‘ (Note: One stamp for every £5 spent ^_^)

‘Really? ‘

‘Yuh. Remember some of the people we know? They’re somehow forever comparing themselves to others, forever assuming and using every opportunity to make a statement.’

‘Mm, true,’ looking thoughtful, Beam understood fully what I was saying for I’d been talking about everything with her, even my love life.

After our playful farewell routine (Me: ‘See you at Christmas!’ & Beam: *hissing as she walked into school ~*), I headed to Co-Op and couldn’t help beaming all the way. I was touched by the positivity in her words.

Language is not just a tool for communication and expression. Behind a language, there’s always a certain set of values and a specific culture (or cultures!). How you use it definitely reflects your world view and beliefs.

Therefore, I was delighted to see Beam focusing on telling it like it is, positively.

The other night, while I was cleaning the kitchen and getting ready for bedtime, suddenly, there came Beam’s crisp voice, ‘I think I accidentally killed the baby spider.’

I turned, and saw her standing there with an apologetic look on her face, frowning.

She was trying to move the spider, who was strolling on her laptop, to somewhere else, but somehow managed to squash it because the stack of paper bent unexpectedly and hit the wall.

‘Er…’ I was trying hard to be nurturing and looking for some words of wisdom for this unfortunate incident.

‘Oh well, at least he won’t have to worry about being murdered again,’ wise as Yoda, Beam found her conclusion before I had the chance to pretend being smart.

I laughed. This sounded too familiar, ‘Are you copying my “Look on the bright side” philosophy?’

Beam cracked up too, ‘Of course! I know too well this is exactly what you would say, right?’

‘Oh well…’ I couldn’t deny at all.

What can I say? Children do learn what they live!

*************************************************

今天上學的時候,終於記得帶集點卡給人了,最近大家都在集點換大頭毛娃娃。

保羅似乎又驚又喜,看來卡塔沒有告訴這個老公,她早就跟我說好,如果我不集了,麻煩要給她。他那超感激的表情,令人莞爾。

揮手道別後,我和梅小獸繼續往學校前進,一邊延續我們無意義的閒聊。

「你很會集點耶。」梅小獸突地冒出這一句。

「是喔?」這個評語讓我覺得有點好笑,「哈哈~你很會觀察喔,也很實事求是!你知道,有些人肯定是妄下結論:『哇!好有錢噢!』」(貓咪註:五英鎊集一點)

「真的?」

「對啊,你忘了我們認識的一些人就是這樣啊!好像無時無刻都要跟人比較,隨時對地都在臆測論斷。」

「啊對吼!」梅小獸馬上想起來了。我們家從來沒有所謂「小孩子不懂!」這回事,我什麼都跟她說,包括我的感情生活。

學校到了,我們照例擁別,我會故意說:[聖誕節再見啦!」梅小獸就嘶嘶叫抗議,然後一邊走進校園。

我回頭,往鎮上走去;腦海中不斷重複播放剛才的畫面,忍不住開心地笑著。

語言不光是語言,它不只是一個表達、溝通的工具,語言的背後,更是一種價值,一個文化。你如何使用語言,絕對跟你背後的價值信念有關。。。

~【故事的療癒力量】by 周志建

所以,我欣見梅小獸這樣正面取向的談話方式。

某個夜晚,當我正在廚房做最後的清理,耳邊突然傳來梅小獸清脆又帶點稚嫩的聲音:「我好像不小心把那隻小蜘蛛弄死了耶。」

我回過頭,梅小獸定定站在那兒,臉上帶著十分羞愧的神情。

小蜘蛛在她的電腦上散步,被發現了,於是,她拿了一疊紙,企圖把小蜘蛛移到別的地方。人算不如天算,約莫是手拿的力道不平衡,紙張突然往下凹,整個貼上了牆!站在紙上的小蜘蛛,就這麼不明不白地噶兒屁了。

「喔。。。」我思索著有什麼睿智的話語可以派上用場,平常當個笨媽媽無所謂,但是偶爾也會想要裝一下有智慧的樣子。

但是這位年輕的 Yoda 搶先了一步,一點機會也不給:「嗯,起碼,她都不用再擔心死亡這件事了。」

我笑了,太耳熟啦!「你這是在 copy 我的樂天哲學嗎?」(我的口頭禪之一就是「往好的方面看。。。」)

梅小獸也笑了:「那當然!這不就是你會說的話嗎?!」

我認了。

還能說什麼?言教不如身教。就這麼回事兒 ^_*

Lead by example.

Lead by example.